Crispy Chicken Tomato Rice Dish

I took no pictures unfortunately:( but I’m posting this recipe because I made this last night and it was amazing!! It’s the first time I’ve made a Risotto-like dish, and I made up my own recipe, so I was pretty surprised with how well it turned out. It was mainly an attempt to clean out my pantry/fridge before I do another grocery shop but I know for a fact that this will now become a regular menu item at our house. Rod LOVED it… but anyone that knows him also knows that he LOVES food in general, so I’ll just add that he loves this dish especially lots! So anyway, here goes…


Crispy Chicken Tomato Rice Dish

1                   clove garlic
1                   small onion
piece of ginger root grated (the size of my thumbnail…)
1 1/2 cups    Basmati Rice
6                  Crispy Chicken Tenders (from Costco)
1 jar             Pasta sauce
basil
salt
pepper


1. Sauté the finely chopped garlic, onion and grated ginger in 1 tbsp. olive oil till onions are transparent.
2. Follow the instructions on rice package and add the sautéed mixture, sprinkle with basil, salt and pepper.
3. Meanwhile, bake the chicken tenders as per package instructions (probably 15-20 min).
4. When rice and chicken are cooked, cut chicken into bite sized pieces, and stir together the rice, chicken and pasta sauce. (I didn’t use up all the rice for this dish, I probably used just over half and kept the rest aside but that’s easily adjusted to suit meal proportion needs).
5. Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

