Ginger Stir Fry Noodles

We’ve been trying very very hard to stick to a strict budget since we arrived in Newcastle in August. The area I find it hardest to stick to the budget is groceries:( The good thing about it though is that I have to be super creative with the ingredients I have on hand, and not run to the store every time I need something specific.
 For example, this week we ran out of eggs at the beginning of the week but I was craving cookies at the end of the week.. well a little internet searching later I found out that you can replace an egg with cornstarch and water, or even bananas. I tried the cornstarch method and the cookies are amazing!! 
But…this post isn’t about cookies..(although mine are baking as we speak!)
It’s a recipe for Stir Fry that I came up with today for supper. I haven’t really cooked with ginger root that much but lately I’m experimenting with it more and more and I’m realizing that I really love it! 

Ginger Stir Fry Noodles

2 tbsp olive oil
4 stalks of celery chopped
1 medium onion chopped
3 carrots diced
1-2 cloves of garlic minced
a 1 inch piece of ginger root grated 
stir fry noodles
soya sauce
As the name suggests, stir fry the vegetables, garlic and ginger in the oil until just tender. 
Boil the noodles per package instructions, rinse and drain and then add them to the stir fry pan, add soya sauce to taste and Enjoy!!
We were in a bit of a hurry so we didn’t add any meat, but it would have been really good with chicken. The flavor of the ginger mixed with garlic, onion and celery was delicious. 
I’ll just also add that my photography skills are non-existent so if the pictures don’t look super appetizing just trust my taste buds!
Not having  the option to go pick up the ingredients I need for a recipe, has forced me to come up with my own recipes. I find that I just get frustrated when I plan a meal based on a recipe and then realize I don’t have the right items on hand so now I just wing it mostly:) Most of the time it works pretty good… I won’t be telling you about the pizza sauce I tried making with minimal ingredients along with pizza dough without yeast:/ Definitely a fail! Rod did eat most of it though, I am so thankful for a non-picky husband when it comes to food!! 
Leave a Reply

