Easy Peasy Chicken Vegetable Stew

Every couple of weeks I end up with random vegetables left in my fridge that are on the verge of going bad, so I usually end up making some version of a vegetable soup/stew. To go along with the stew I generally bake some biscuits, cause you can’t really enjoy a hearty bowl of  stew without a tender, flaky biscuit! This is a meal that can be cooked up very last minute and yet still tastes as though you spent a lot of time on it. 
This recipe is another one of those “farmhouse style cook” recipes:) I use whatever I have in my fridge and sometimes get a little creative with it! Here is the main jist of it…

Easy Peasy Chicken Stew 

4 potatos cubed
4-5 carrots diced
1 medium onion
frozen peas (or whichever vegetable you like)
water
2 Chicken OXO cubes
2-3 tsp cornstarch (or other thickener)
salt and pepper to taste

I do this the quick  lazy way, I toss all vegetables into the pot and add water to cover, bring to a boil and add OXO cubes. Make sure the cubes completely dissolve. Once the carrots and potato’s are done, mix the cornstarch with a little bit of cold water, and pour slowly into the pot. Only pour a little bit at a time and keep stirring the stew until you have the desired consistency. Some people like it thicker than others. You might not need all the cornstarch mixture. Add salt and pepper to taste! 

From start to finish, I think it only took about 30-40 minutes to make this stew and it really was delicious. Next time I will probably cook up some chicken breasts and add them, but yesterday I wasn’t feeling like spending a whole bunch of time preparing supper, so I cut that step out. 

Some other things to consider adding would be celery, beans, mushrooms, and you could even cut out the cornstarch if your more of a soup person. 

 Baking Powder Biscuits 

I make a pretty good biscuit… the problem I’m having, is writing out the recipe because honestly I don’t use one:/ So if you are the type of person that likes to follow recipes to the letter (number?) then this might not be helpful at all. But I’ll do my best to make it simple because it really is very easy. 

About 1 1/2 cups flour
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 cup of butter
cream

Place flour in your bowl, add salt and baking powder, then cut in the butter till the mixture is crumbly. Slowly start adding cream until the dough sticks together and forms a ball, don’t over mix! 

Place spoonfuls of the dough onto a cookie sheet and bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for approximately 10 min. When they start turning golden brown on the edges, they should be done. 

Now keep in mind that I don’t measure out my ingredients for this recipe… (in fact since moving to Newcastle, I haven’t used a measuring cup at all! I just haven’t bought one yet for some reason.) so you have to be aware of what the dough needs to look like, if you feel like it needs more butter, add some more butter etc. I usually end up adding some shredded cheddar cheese to the flour as well, before adding the cream. Extra awesomeness!!

 I really enjoy experimenting with my ingredients when I cook, it helps me learn what each one adds to the dish. For example, last night I learned the hard way what happens when you forget baking powder, oops! They still tasted good, they were just a little on the dense under-baked side :/
Leave a Reply

