Snickerdoodles; the best cookies ever!!

These cookies are straight up amazing! The first time I ever had a Snickerdoodle was about 4 years ago, and I fell in love instantly! I only started using this recipe over the past couple of months, but it has quickly become my go to for when I’m craving a little bit (or a lot) of sugary goodness.

IMG_5359 (2) IMG_5362

They are super quick and easy to mix up, using very basic ingredients. The only thing you might not have (I know I didn’t before I started using this recipe) is Cream of Tartar.

Soft and melt in your mouth delicious on the inside with a lightly crispy outside because of the sugar and cinnamon coating. Self control is very hard for me as is when it comes to cookies, and these guys make it even harder to stop! This is a fairly small recipe, making approximately 2 dozen small cookies, or 18 medium sized ones, so at least I don’t have cookies sitting in the freezer calling to me for weeks! Usually they’re gone within a few days :O

IMG_5379 (2)IMG_5380 (2)

So, I decided not to post the full recipe on my blog and instead I’m posting a link to the website that I found the recipe on at the bottom of this postThis link should take you straight to her post with the recipe near the bottom.

The only change I made from that recipe, is I didn’t chill the dough… I know it sounds like an important step, but who has the patience for that!! I know I don’t. Instead I use butter that is still slightly chilled, I took mine out about 15 minutes before I started mixing up this batch. It means your mixer has a bit of a task trying to blend the sugars into the butter, but it worked well and I didn’t have to wait! Oh, and one more thing, I would recommend not substituting margarine for the butter. I’ll admit I am a bit of a butter snob, but in these cookies, it really makes a difference! The sweet buttery flavour just wouldn’t be there without butter!!

IMG_5403

 

Let me know if you try it! I’d love to know if there are more Snickerdoodle fans out there! Maybe you have another great recipe for these lovely cookies that you’d like to share with me?? 🙂

Here is the link to the recipe: http://www.averiecooks.com/2014/09/the-best-snickerdoodles.html

~Melinda~

2 thoughts on “Snickerdoodles; the best cookies ever!!

  1. I am so going to try these soon! And I think I even have cream of tatar!
    If you like oatmeal raisin cookies, I have an amazing recipe for you, like I’m kind of addicted to these cookies, that’s how good they are. You could probably sub the raisins for chocolate chips if you don’t like raisins…

    Best Ever Raisin Cookies

    1 cup unsalted butter, softened to room temp
    1 cup light or dark brown sugar
    1/4 cup granulated sugar
    2 large eggs*
    1 tablespoon vanilla extract
    1 tablespoon molasses
    1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
    1 teaspoon baking soda
    1 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
    1/2 teaspoon salt
    2 1/2 cups old fashioned rolled oats
    1/4 cup whole flax seed
    1/4 ground flax seed
    1 cup raisins *

    Using a hand mixer or a stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, cream the softened butter and both sugars on medium speed until smooth. Add the eggs and mix on high until combined, about 1 minute. Scrape down the sides and bottom of the bowl as needed. Add the vanilla and molasses and mix on high until combined. Set aside.

    In a separate bowl, toss the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt together. Add to wet ingredients and mix on low until combined. Beat in the oats and raisins on low speed. Dough will be thick and very sticky. Chill the dough for 30-60 minutes in the fridge (do the full 60 minutes if you’re afraid of the cookies spreading too much). If chilling for longer (up to two days), allow to sit at room temperature for at least 30 minutes before rolling and baking.

    Preheat oven to 350F. Line baking sheets with parchment paper. 

    Roll balls of dough (about 1.5 tablespoons of dough per cookie) and place 2 inches apart on the baking sheets. Bake for 10 minutes until very lightly browned on the sides. The centers will look very soft and undone. Remove from the oven and let cool on baking sheet for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely. The cookies will continue to “set” on the baking sheet during this time.

    Cover the cookies and store at room temperature for up to 1 week. Baked cookies and rolled cookie dough freeze well, up to 3 months.

    *Room temperature eggs preferred. Good rule of thumb: always use room temperature eggs when using room temperature butter.

    *Soak your raisins in warm water for 10 minutes before using (blot very well to dry them) – this makes them nice and plump for your cookies. OR even try them with raisinets!

    1. They sound really good! I’ll have to see if I can find molasses here… haven’t seen it anywhere but I’ll look harder! And yes, you should try the snickerdoodles, ahmaaazinnggg! I just finished the last two for breakfast this morning:)

Leave a Reply

