Leek & Pepper Breakfast wraps

I’ve discovered a new vegetable that I had never cooked with until a few weeks ago; leeks! They add such an amazing flavour to pretty much any dish, soups, stews, stir-fry’s etc. This is a recipe that I threw together one day for lunch and I absolutely love it! So simple and quick, but also healthy and very filling.

Ingredients (serves 2)

-1/2 leek stalk

-1/4 yellow pepper

-1/4 red pepper

-2 eggs

-flour tortilla

-1 tbsp olive oil

-parsley or basil to taste

(I use about 1/4 tsp dry or 1 tsp freshly chopped)

-salt & pepper

Start by chopping up the veggies and stir fry them in a tbsp of olive oil until they are just softened. Lightly beat eggs with a fork and pour into fry pan with the veggies. Mix it all up and sprinkle with salt and pepper, and when the eggs are cooked through add the parsley or basil.

IMG_5428 (2)

For a little kick, I like to add some cheese, here I used a 12 months aged Old Farmhouse Cheddar. It’s a little to strong for my taste on it’s own, but in cooked dishes it’s delicious. IMG_5435

Lastly I wrap the egg/veggie mixture into a flour tortilla. It’s easy, quick and so good! IMG_5442 (2)

~Melinda~

Leave a Reply

